now reading
Anime and Manga, Impressions

In which I was fooled by a harem dating anime

What do I have here? A fairly decent fantasy anime with the potential to be a good political one (not that I like politics though), a show with convenient amnesia, moe-fied prefectures and I learned about flags.

This should be fun, I guess.

Soredemo sekai wa utsukushii

Bimbo princess?

Bimbo princess?

Another fantasy anime, and a decent one too. Interesting that this isn’t loaded with the usual fanservice ecchi hoohaa. And it’s safe to assume that this anime would focus more on the romance between the Sun King and Nike.

What’s also interesting is possibly the political landscape. I don’t really like politics (who does?), but still, why would a king from a powerful kingdom would want to marry a princess from a very poor land? Why not just roll over them? In fact, not rolling over them is a better thing to do, based on what the first episode eludes to, since it would be a waste of resources to do so for such a poor country. I don’t know, maybe I should shut up about politics and just enjoy this as it goes.

But since it’s on the subject of “a king marrying a princess from a poor country”, no doubt that there would be other princesses from other countries that might want to contest Nike.

Here’s hoping that it won’t turn into a harem crapfest though.

Shota king?

Shota king?

Status: watching. Score: 7/10


 

One Week Friends

Screenshot 2014-04-14 11.37.29

Ahh yes. If I were a normal audience, I would find Hase’s persistence to be endearing and sweet. I mean, what’s not to like about a character who’s adamant on forging a friendship with someone who has an odd amnesia condition? Not me, sadly. Maybe it’s not a mechanism to force drama per se, but I can’t just shake that feeling. Throughout the show, I did feel all warm-n-fuzzy at times though, so…

Maybe this one could stand hand in hand as a SoL anime that I can like with Kawaisou. Well, as long as 2nd for the latter didn’t do a 180°.

Screenshot 2014-04-14 11.39.16

Status: watching. Score: 6/10


 

Mahou Shoujo Taisen

Screenshot 2014-04-14 14.00.50It’s a short about magical girl’d Japan prefecture. Might be on it just for the magical girls.

Status: watching. Score: 6/10


 

Flagnime

Screenshot 2014-04-14 14.17.48

Hmm. Hmm hmm hmm. First impressions would be kind of low for me. I mean, right at the start, we see the cliche big-breasted homeroom teacher *sigh*. Then there’s the obvious “all supporting characters in the same class” scenario at first pan of the class *sigh*. In comes in the cliche “supporting male friend that’s into girls so you better ask me lol” guy *sigh*. This is where it got interesting for me. Main dude rejects his friendship. Then the sadist ojou-sama got rejected too.

It seems this anime is using these so-called “flags”

Screenshot 2014-04-14 14.21.02

Annoying

I’m not really receptive to flags in most shows I watch before whatever situation was flagged to happen, happens. For example, most deaths in shows usually came in as a surprise, but upon hindsight, I could see how this and that might signal a character’s death.

Even with super annoying Akane around, I’m still kind of interested in this anime. Notwithstanding the fact that this Nanami is a tsundere, but so far might not have even the urge for a friendship with Dude-kun. Which is, again, kind of breaking the cliche.

Well, at least prior to the next episode preview I see why “flags” are so foreign to me.

It’s a mechanic for dating sims. Sigh. This is going to be another harem anime is it? Only this time it’s a baby’s first harem dating anime with the flags shown obviously instead of learning how to read the flags myself, is it?

Sigh.

Screenshot 2014-04-14 14.36.16

Status: depends on next episode. Score: 6/10

About fEast91

A foreign student who happens to like manga/anime and headphones.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

